Knowing when to pause

I am nearing the end of Teach Yourself Russian. Well, I have pretty much skipped over all the exercises, but my main goal is understanding. I have been spending a lot of time over the past couple of weeks focusing on Russian, and it can tell my vocabulary has increased a lot more recently than previously. And now that I am nearing the end of the book, I feel myself already trying to decide what language to move on to next. I keep making a start on various languages, but then I don’t get very far with them.

I think it’s time to stop. Or at least to pause. I have enough languages begun to keep me busy for a long time improving my understanding of them. The only other language I definitely want to make a start on first is Portuguese. It should be fairly easy, since I have a bit of a grounding in French, Italian and (very little, self-taught) Spanish. Portuguese is a pretty widespread language and I would like to include it in the group I go forward with.

So there, a new resolution, to improve on the languages I’ve made a start on until they are as good as my German (B1 level). And, of course, I wouldn’t want to neglect German. Try my best to forget, for now, about Chinese, Korean, Hindi, Swedish, Polish…. oh let me not even continue.  “Jack of all trades, master of none” – much as I hate to admit it (I want absolutely everything, is that too much to ask?).

One thought on “Knowing when to pause

  1. J

    I don’t think it’s too much to ask for. There was a plaque outside a bookshop in Seville that said, “You can’t read all the books in the world, but you can try.”

    There ought to be some kind of “module” that you can retain in your brain for those languages you once knew, a package of phrases that will buy you some time until your memory returns. You learned it once, it’s in your head somewhere, it might just take some coaxing to get it out again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

