A veritable polyglot & New Years resolutions

I lost my job a couple of months ago, and have not yet found a new one. The job market is just awful at the moment, and the town I live in does not seem to have much in the way of the kind of jobs I am interested in.

But enough of that. Since I’ve been unemployed I’ve had time to spend on languages. And I have been. Only, probably not enough. I mean this guy is really impressive. I aspire to that kind of language knowledge. He is obviously very dedicated and able to focus. Something I battle with sometimes. But this is because I am teaching myself and thus there is no structure, no ‘homework is due tomorrow’ kind of pressure.

Especially over the past couple of weeks of Christmas – I have barely touched a book about language. But I want to get back into it soon. I am looking for a job at the same time, and hopefully will have a new one soon – then I won’t be able to spend much time on learning languages, so I need to take this opportunity to get as much done as I can.

Speaking of new year. I’m not really one for New Year’s resolutions, though I can see the attraction.  As far as I’m concerned, if I want to do something / change my habits, etc, any time of the year is as good as any to say ‘time for a change’!

Leave a Reply

